

Distr.: General 29 May 2025

Original: English

Note by the President of the Security Council

1. Pursuant to paragraph 4 (b) of the note by the President of the Security Council dated 30 October 1998 (S/1998/1016) and paragraphs 124 to 129 of the annex to the note by the President of the Council dated 13 December 2024 (S/2024/507), and after consultations among the members of the Council, it was agreed to elect the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of subsidiary bodies for the period ending 31 December 2025 as follows:

Security Council Committee pursuant to resolutions 1267 (1999), 1989 (2011) and 2253 (2015) concerning Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant (Da'esh), Al-Qaida and associated individuals, groups, undertakings and entities

Chair:

Christina Markus Lassen (Denmark)

Vice-Chairs: Russian Federation and Sierra Leone

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1373 (2001) concerning counter-terrorism

Chair:

Amar Bendjama (Algeria)

Vice-Chairs: France, Pakistan and Russian Federation

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1518 (2003)

Chair:

Samuel Žbogar (Slovenia)

Vice-Chair: Somalia

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1533 (2004) concerning the Democratic Republic of the Congo

Chair:

Michael Imran Kanu (Sierra Leone)

Vice-Chair: Algeria

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1540 (2004)

Chair:

Eloy Alfaro de Alba (Panama)

Vice-Chairs: Greece and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland



25-(E) ***25-***

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1591 (2005) concerning the Sudan

Chair:

Joonkook Hwang (Republic of Korea)

Vice-Chair: Somalia

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1636 (2005)

Chair:

Samuel Žbogar (Slovenia)

Vice-Chair: Denmark

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006)

Chair:

Evangelos Sekeris (Greece)

Vice-Chairs: Panama and Republic of Korea

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1970 (2011) concerning Libya

Chair:

Abukar Dahir Osman (Somalia)

Vice-Chair: Greece

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1988 (2011)

Chair:

Asim Iftikhar Ahmad (Pakistan)

Vice-Chairs: Guyana and Russian Federation

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012) concerning Guinea-Bissau

Chair:

Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett (Guyana)

Vice-Chair: Somalia

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2140 (2014)

Chair:

Joonkook Hwang (Republic of Korea)

Vice-Chair: Slovenia

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2206 (2015) concerning South Sudan

Chair:

Michael Imran Kanu (Sierra Leone)

Vice-Chair: Denmark

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2653 (2022) concerning Haiti

Chair:

Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett (Guyana)

Vice-Chair: China

Security Council Committee pursuant to resolution 2713 (2023) concerning Al-Shabaab

Chair: Eloy Alfaro de Alba (Panama)

Vice-Chair: China

Security Council Committee pursuant to resolution 2745 (2024)

Chair:

Amar Bendjama (Algeria)

Vice-Chair: Guyana

Working Group on Peacekeeping Operations

Chair:

Joonkook Hwang (Republic of Korea)

Vice-Chair: China and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Ad Hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and Resolution in Africa

Chair:

Abukar Dahir Osman (Somalia)

Vice-Chair: Sierra Leone

Working Group established pursuant to resolution 1566 (2004)

Chair:

Amar Bendjama (Algeria)

Vice-Chairs: France and Russian Federation

Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict

Chair:

Evangelos Sekeris (Greece)

Vice-Chair: Panama

Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other Procedural Questions

Co-Chairs:

Christina Markus Lassen (Denmark) and Asim Iftikhar Ahmad (Pakistan)

Informal Working Group on International Tribunals

Chair:

Michael Imran Kanu (Sierra Leone)

Vice-Chair: Denmark

Informal Working Group on General United Nations Security Council Sanctions Issues

Co-Chairs:

Evangelos Sekeris (Greece) and Asim Iftikhar Ahmad (Pakistan)

2. Pursuant to paragraph 3 of the note by the President of the Security Council dated 16 January 2016 (S/2016/44), and after consultations among the members of the Council, it was agreed to select the facilitator for the period ending 18 October 2025 as follows:

Implementation of Security Council resolution 2231 (2015)

Facilitator:

Samuel Žbogar (Slovenia)